People

From the elected Board of Directors to the hired Executive Council and Service Council, they are the talented people behind the Commerce Undergraduate Society.

Meet the People

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is a group of elected individuals responsible for maintaining the direction of the Commerce Undergraduate Society. Formed in 2009, the Board fosters a long-term strategy and maintain this strategy and the general mission of the CUS. It currently comprises eight year representatives, a representative for the UBC Senate and two representatives to the Alma Mater Society, as well as the President and Ombudsperson, both of which also sit on the Executive Council and the former of which is the CUS’s third AMS representative. One member also doubles as the Chairperson. The Board also approves the annual CUS budget and budgetary amendments while continually evaluating all CUS activities. There are many committees within the Board responsible for maintaining and streamlining larger topics such as budgeting and policy development, all of which include members-at-large and Executives. The Vice-Presidents of the Executive Council are selected and appointed by the Board to carry out day-to-day operations of the CUS. Board meetings occur once a month; please contact the Administrative Director at grace.lee@cus.ca for more details. All members of the CUS are welcome to attend. Please see “Meetings and Minutes” for agenda information.

 
 
 

2021-2022

President
Grace Lee
grace.lee@cus.ca

AMS Representative
Jason Liao
jason.liao@cus.ca

Fourth-Year Representative
Simon Roberts
simon.robers@cus.ca

Fourth-Year Representative
Aditya Surjewala
aditya.surjewala@cus.ca

Third-Year Representative
Siane Sahdra
siane.sahdra@cus.ca

Third-Year Representative
Janvi Marwah
janvi.marwah@cus.ca

Second-Year Representative
Malia Bryson
malia.bryson@cus.ca

Second-Year Representative
Karam Kanwar
karam.kanwar@cus.ca

Ombudsperson
Doris Huang
doris.huang@cus.ca

2020-2021

 
 
 

President
Kristian Oppenheim
kristian.oppenheim@cus.ca

AMS Representative
James Chen
james.chen@cus.ca

Third-Year Representative
Dhiraj Hariramani
dhiraj.hariramani@cus.ca

Third Year Representative
Irem Atalay
irem.atalay@cus.ca

Second Year Representative
Philip Shi
philip.shi@cus.ca

Second Year Representative
Dhvanit Doshi
dhvanit.doshi@cus.ca

First Year Representative
Jasmin Singh
jasmin.singh@cus.ca

First Year Representative
Jason Liao
jason.liao@cus.ca

Ombudsperson
Parth Sehtiya
parth.sehtiya@cus.ca

2019-2020

 
 
 

President
Priscilla Chan

Commerce Student Senator
Dante Agosti-Moro

AMS Representative
Andrew Huang

Fourth Year Representative
Jessica Jiang

Fourth Year Representative
Shaurab Hamal

Third Year Representative
Daniel H.Cho

Third Year Representative
Kaartik Sathianarayanan Shakila

Second Year Representative
Elaine Zhang

Second Year Representative
Jenny Zhao

First Year Representative
Kevin Yang

First Year Representative
James Chen

Ombudsperson
Chantal Despres